DUI penalties in California
Los Angeles residents should know that on a whole, California is considered one of the strictest states when it comes to how DUI-related crimes and their adjacent penalties are handled. Even first time offenses can result in hefty punishment if the accused is convicted, which we will look into today.
FindLaw examines the severity of first time DUI offenses in the state. According to them, the total sum of fees and assessments can end up costing up to $2,000. Not only that, but the convicted person’s license will be suspended for several months, they will face up to 48 hours of jail time, and they will be required to complete a treatment program. On top of that, this only applies if the individual’s first offense didn’t involve any bodily injury. Second offenses could potentially result in a minimum jail sentence of 90 days, 18 months of license suspension, and up to $1,000 in fees.
IDriveSafely.com takes a look at some of the more severe DUI offenses. This includes a third offense or higher, as well as offenses involving bodily harm or other felonies. Third offenses are punishable by up to $1,000 in fines, up to 1 year in jail, and a 3 year license revocation. Fourth offenses or more are considered a felony by default if they occur within 10 years of each other. This can result in a maximum of 3 years in jail, and up to 4 years of license suspension in addition to the potentially $1,000 fee.
These aren’t even counting offenses that involve higher felonies, such as reckless endangerment of minors or the bodily harm or even death of others. However, all DUI related crimes are treated with severity in this state.